What am I? Mystery animal series #1  LbNA # 14620

OwnerGenetic Blend      
Placed DateApr 20 2005
CountyAllegheny
LocationImperial, PA
Boxes1
Found ByM and M
Last UpdateNov 1 2009

Clues

Can you guess what animal I am?

Here are some clues:
My scientific name is Tamiasciurus hudsonicus.
I weigh 7-12 ounces. I am a very good climber and jumper.
I am most active in the early morning and late afternoon.
I like to eat insects, seeds, bark, nuts, fruits, mushrooms, and pinecones. I make my nest in cavities of trees and stumps.

Now, can you find me?

This letterbox can be found in ELM STREET PARK, on Elm Street, in Imperial, Pennsylvania. Elm Street is just off of Main Street. Follow Elm Street up the hill. Turn RIGHT into Findlay Township's Elm Street Park. You can park in the gravel parking lot. You will see a picnic pavillion. Go to the pavillion. You will see an asphalt trail. Follow that trail to the right. The trail will take you past a ball field on the left, and will lead you to a children's playground. Behind the playground, the trail continues, going back into the woods. Keep following the trail. You will soon come to a blue and white sign on your right that reads, "Caution Sharp Turn Ahead". Just ahead on the left is a bench. Face the bench. About twelve feet behind the bench is a tree that is leaning far to the left. The letterbox is not hidden at this tree, but at the next tree to the right. Follow the base of the leaning tree trunk to the right about ten feet. The letterbox is tucked into a cavity at the bottom of the tree trunk---just like where this animal lives. Another landmark is a wooden post and rail fence just to the right of the bench. You can also determine the tree's location by facing the first post of the rail fence. The tree where the letterbox is hidden is perpendicular to the rail post, about twelve feet back.

This is an easy trail. It should take only about 10-15 minutes from the parking lot to the letterbox.


Happy Hunting!


I checked on this letterbox on 4-6-06 and it was in excellent condition.